Plane & Pilot
Tuesday, August 20, 2013

A New Beginning


As ma­jor airlines hire for the first time in a decade, pilot demand heats up



FLIGHT TRAINING SCHOOLS As requirements and regulations change, so must the type of flight training available to prospective pilots. We're fortunate to live in a nation that has such a good training infrastructure that other nations send their students here to get the best training available. Our industry is also one of excellence, and a few training academies have been around since the early days of aviation, building a legacy that continues to this day. Students have a lot to choose from, but this list should offer a good start.
  Website Type Location
Academy College of Aviation www.academycollege.edu 4-year professional pilot degree programs Bloomington, Minn.
Aerosim Flight Academy www.aerosim.com Cirrus training center, degree program with Jacksonville University Sanford, Fla.
AFIT www.afit-info.com Accelerated programs for ratings through multi Instructors come to you
Airline Transport Professionals (ATP) www.atpflightschool.com Nationwide locations, all ratings, largest academy in U.S 31 locations
American Flyers www.americanflyers.net Primary training and finish-up programs 9 locations
Baker College www.baker.edu 4-year college aviation program Muskegon, Mich.
Baylor Institute for Air Science www.baylor.edu/aviation Private Christian university; many degree programs Waco, Texas
Eagle Jet International www.eaglejet.net Time-builder and international programs Miami, Fla.
Embry-Riddle www.erau.edu Nation's largest aviation university program Multiple campuses
Everglades University www.evergladesuniversity.edu Many degree programs including Masters 3 Florida campuses
FlightSafety Academy www.flightsafetyacademy.com Dedicated aviation campus. Fleet of almost 100 aircraft. Vero Beach, Fla.
Florida Institute of Technology www.fit.edu 4-year degree program. Army ROTC. FAA ATC training center. Melbourne, Fla.
Hillsboro Aviation www.hillsboroaviation.com 40-aircraft training fleet includes King Air C90. Huge international program. Hillsboro, Ore.
Kansas State University www.salina.k-state.edu/aviation Affordable tuition, King Air C-90, pilot, ATC and technician programs Salina, Kan.
Middle Georgia College www.mgc.edu/aviation Helicopter, fixed-wing pilot and technician programs. Bachelor's and Associate degrees. Eastman, Ga.
Minnesota State University http://ed.mnsu.edu/aviation 4-year degree programs, glass-equipped fleet Mankato, Minn.
Nova Southeastern University www.nova.edu 4-year degree program. Flight training through American Flyers. Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
Oklahoma State University http://go.okstate.edu Various degree programs, low student-aircraft ratio, Cessna and Piper fleet Tulsa and Stillwater, Okla.
Parks College http://parks.slu.edu Has Center for Aviation Safety Research (CASR), 80-year history St. Louis, Mo.
Southern Illinois University www.aviation.siuc.edu Undergraduate and graduate degrees. Program owns a 737. Murphysboro, Ill.
Spartan College of Aeronautics www.spartan.edu Long, rich history, many aviation career tracks, extensive technician program Tulsa, Okla.
Sterling Flight Training www.sterlingflight.com Small flight school with Micco SP-20 and Tecnam P2006T aircraft Jacksonville, Fla.
Transpac Academy www.transpacacademy.com American Eagle Pipeline program, Piper training fleet Phoenix, Ariz.
University of Cincinnati www.uc.edu Multiple career tracks and degrees, public research university Cincinnati, Ohio
University of North Dakota www.aviation.und.edu Widely recognized program, 120 aircraft fleet, UAV program Grand Forks, N.D.
US Flight Academy www.usflightacademy.com Former Air Force Base, 22-year accident-free history, 2- and 4-year degrees Big Spring, Texas
Utah Valley University www.uvu.edu/aviation All-Diamond training fleet, state of the art simulators, established flight programs Provo, Utah




1 Comment

Add Comment